2010 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are New Zealand’s National Science Fiction Awards. Presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand. The award is open to works written by citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand. Anyone in New Zealand can nominate but only members of the national convention can vote—much like the Hugos, the Auroras, and the BSFA Award. The winners were announced at Au Contraire on Sunday, August 29th.

SpecFicNZ would like to congratulate all the nominees and winners, and thank SFFANZ for honouring well-crafted and well-loved speculative fiction in New Zealand

Here is a full list of winners:

  • Best Novel: Beyond The Wall Of Time, Russell Kirkpatrick
  • Best YA Novel: Brainjack, Brian Falkner
  • Best Novella / Novellete: Wives, Paul Haines
  • Best Short Story (tie): “Corrigan’s Exchange,” Ripley Patton; “The Living Dead Boy,” Grant Stone
  • Best Collected Work: Voyagers: Science Fiction Poetry from New Zealand, Mark Pirie and Tim Jones
  • Best Artwork: The Test, Serena Kearns
  • Best Dramatic Presentation: Under The Mountain
  • Best Professional Publication: Semaphore Magazine, edited by Marie Hodgkinson
  • Best New Talent: Simon Petrie
  • Best Fan Writing: Simon Litten for SJV Watch and SFFANZ Reviews
  • Best Fan Production: Coals to Newcastle (Short Film), Yvonne Harrison
  • Fan Publication (tie): Phoenixine, John & Lynelle Howell; Time Space Visualiser, Adam McGechan
  • Services to Fandom: David Lee Smith, the founder of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club
  • Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror: Philip Mann
Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: