Congratulations to our SJV winners!

Huge congratulations to our SpecFicNZ members whose works were winners of this year’s Sir Julius Vogel Awards! The SJVs recognise excellence in speculative fiction in Aotearoa and are named after the author of NZ’s first spec fic novel, Anno Domini 2000: A Woman’s Destiny (reviewed here).

Paul Mannering‘s book Engines of Empathy won Best Novel.

Juliet Marillier‘s book The Caller: Shadowfell won Best Youth Novel.

Lee Murray‘s story “Inside Fernade” won Best Short Story.

Celine Murray‘s book Peach and Araxi won Best Novella.

A.J. Fitzwater won Best New Talent.

The Best Collected Work, Lost in the Museum, was edited by Alicia Ponder and subedited by Eileen Mueller, and features stories written by Tim Jones and Lillian Hetet.

Congratulations to everyone whose work was nominated and won – we are so proud of you! Read the full list here.

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: