SpecFicNZ Writers Well-Represented at Recent Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Sir Julius Vogel Awards


At the recent National Science Fiction Convention (Au Contraire 3) held in Wellington over Queen’s Birthday Weekend, the winners of the Sir Julius Vogel Awards were announced. The Sir Julius Vogel Awards recognise achievements by New Zealanders, both amateur and professional, in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres.

SFFANZ (Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand) President, Norman Cates, prior to announcing the awards, commented that SFFANZ was “delighted with the level of participation and interest in the awards from an impressively wide variety of people.”

Professional Awards Category Winners

Best NovelArdus by Jean Gilbert, Rogue House Publishing
Best Youth NovelDragons Realm by Eileen Mueller (Fairytale Factory)
Best NovellaThe Ghost of Matter by Octavia Cade, published in, Shortcuts: Track 1 (Paper Road Press)
Best Short Story“The Thief’s Tale” by Lee Murray
Best Collected WorkWrite Off Line 2015: The Earth We Knew, Jean Gilbert / Chad Dick (Eds.)
Best Professional ArtworkCover for Shortcuts: Track 1, by Casey Bailey
Best Professional Production/
White Cloud Worlds Anthology 3, Paul Tobin (Ed.), published by Weta Workshop
Best New TalentJean Gilbert

Fan Award Category Winners

Best Fan Production/publicationPhoenixine, by John and Lynelle Howell
Best Fan ArtworkKeith Smith – for contributions to Novazine
Best Fan WritingJohn Toon

Special Award Category Winners

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and HorrorMarie Hodgkinson
Services to FandomGlenn Young

The above has been adapted from the SFFANZ site.

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: