SpecFicNZ Members Sweep SJV Awards!

SpecFicNZ Members Sweep SJV Awards!

We are thrilled to announce that SpecFicNZ members took home all the fiction awards at the Sir Julius Vogel Awards this past weekend, plus Dan Rabarts won Best New Talent and Helen Lowe took home the special award for Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror! Congratulations to all the winners.smFront-v5

The full list of winners, via SFFANZ, is below:

Best Novel: Heartwood by Freya Robertson, Angry Robot

Best Youth NovelRaven Flight by Juliet Marillier, Pan Macmillan

Best Novella: “Cave Fever” by Lee Murray in Regeneration, Random Static

Best Short Story: “By Bone-Light” by Juliet Marillier in Prickle Moon, Ticonderoga Productions

Best Collected Work: Baby Teeth, Dan Rabarts/Lee Murray (eds), Paper Road Press

Best Professional Artwork: Cover of Regeneration: New Zealand Speculative Fiction 2, Emma Weakley – Random Static

Best Professional Production/Publication: WearableArt, Craig Potton Publishing

Best Dramatic Presentation: The Almighty Johnsons (Season 3)

Best Fan Production / Publication: Phoenixine, John & Lynelle Howell

Best Fan Artwork: This award has been carried over until the 2015 awards
“Gorgth Goes Shopping” by Matt Cowens
Au Contraire 2013 convention book

Best Fan Writing: (tie) Alan Parker, “Presidential Address”, Novazine and Lynelle Howell, “ Presidental Sweet” / “DuhVice”, Phoenixine

Best New Talent: Dan Rabarts

Services To Fandom: The League of Victorian Imagineers

Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror: Helen Lowe

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: