2016 Sir Julius Vogel Award Nominees Announced

SFFANZ has announced the nominees for this year’s Sir Julius Vogel Awards. Congratulations to all the nominees!

Best Novel
Ardus, Jean Gilbert (Rogue House Publishing)
Mariah’s Dream, Grace Bridges (Splashdown Books)
Vestiges of Flames, Lyn McConchie (Lethe Press USA)
Currents of Change, Darian Smith (Wooden Tiger Press)
Shards of Ice, Catherine Mede (Flying Kiwi Press)
Sun Touched, J.C. Hart (Etherhart Press)

Best Youth Novel
The Caretaker of Imagination, Z. R. Southcombe (Self Published)
Dragons Realm (You Say Which Way), Eileen Mueller (Fairytale Factory)
Brave’s Journey, Jan Goldie (IFWG Publishing Australia)
Lucy’s Story: The End of the World, Z. R. Southcombe (Self Published)
Deadline Delivery, Peter Friend (Fairytale Factory)

Best Novella / Novelette
Pocket Wife, I. K. Paterson-Harkness (in Shortcuts – Track 1, Paper Road Press)
The Way the Sky Curves, J. C. Hart (Etherhart Press)
The Molenstraat Music Festival, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s, September 2015 issue)
The Last, Grant Stone (in Shortcuts – Track 1, Paper Road Press)
The Ghost of Matter, Octavia Cade (in Shortcuts – Track 1, Paper Road Press)
Burn (Maiden, Mother, Crone, bk 1), J. C. Hart (Etherhart Press)
Bree’s Dinosaur, A. C. Buchanan (in Shortcuts – Track 1, Paper Road Press)

Best Short Story
“The Thief’s Tale” Lee Murray (Volume 1 of The Refuge Collection, Steve Dillon (ed.))
“Pride” Jean Gilbert (In Contact Light, Timothy Zahn (ed.), Silence in the Library LLC)
“Floodgate” Dan Rabarts (In Mammoth book of Dieselpunk, Burning Press)
“The Shelver” Piper Mejia (In SpecFicNZ Shorts)
“The Harpsicord Elf” Sean Monoghan (In Capricious Issue 2)
“Drag Marks” Darian Smith (In Shifting Worlds, Wooden Tiger Press)

Best Collected Work
Shifting Worlds: a collection of short stories, Darian Smith (Wooden Tiger Press)
Shortcuts: Track 1, Marie Hodgkinson (ed) (Paper Road Press)
The Survivors: Heroic Edition, V. L. Dreyer (Cheeky Kea Creations)
Write Off Line 2015: The Earth We Knew, Jean Gilbert (author)/Chad Dick (ed) (Rogue House Publishing)
SpecFicNZ Shorts, SpecFicNZ
Beyond the Veil: A collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Lauren Haddock/Jessica Harvey (eds)

Best Professional Artwork
Cover of The Earth We Knew: A Collection of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Kodi Murray
Cover for Shortcuts – Track 1, K.C. Bailey
Cover for Pisces of Fate, Henry Christian-Sloane
Cover for Miss Lionheart and the Laboratory of Death, Imojen Faith Hancock
Best Professional Production/Publication
“Ahead of her time and lost in time: on feminism, gender, and bisexuality” AJ Fitzwater (In Letters to Tiptree, Twelfth Planet Press)
The Face of Oblivion, A LARP written by Catherine Pegg
White Cloud Worlds Anthology 3, Paul Tobin (ed), published by Weta Workshop

Best Fan Production/ Publication
Phoenixine, John & Lynelle Howell

Best Fan Writing
John Toon (Available in Phoenixine)
June Young (Available in Phoenixine)
Terri Doyle (Available in Novazine)

Best New Talent
Jean Gilbert
Octavia Cade
Y. K. Willemse
Eileen Mueller

Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror
Marie Hodgkinson

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: